HermizLaw Blog http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/ recent posts en-us Tue, 22 Jan 2019 18:44:25 -0600 How Much Will I Pay In Child Support in Michigan? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/24529  

Child Support

Child Support! Help!

In Michigan, to determine how much child support a parent pays, the courts use a formula called the Michigan Child Support Guidelines. This formula is based largely on the income of the parties and the amount of overnights the child spends with each parent. If the child spends more than 128 overnights with the parent that pays child support, child support may be reduced based on a calculation using the joint economic responsibility formula, which means that the support obligation will go down.

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/24529
What is a Contested Divorce? What is an Uncontested Divorce? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12339 Michigan uncontested divorceUncontested Divorce? Contested Divorce? What's the Difference?!

Many people have a misunderstanding of what it means to have a contested or uncontested divorce. Many think that an uncontested divorce is always cheaper, quicker and more efficient than a contested divorce; that is not necessarily the case. In fact, the difference between a contested and uncontested divorce have nothing to do with cost, timeliness or efficiency, but rather the involvement of the Defendant. 

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12339
Who’s Who and What do They Do in a Family/Divorce Action? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12338 Michigan divorceWho is the Plaintiff? Who is the Friend of the Court? What does the Judge do?

The Plaintiff is the party who starts the suit by filing the Complaint. The Defendant is the opposing party. The divorce or family case is resolved by the Family Court Division in the Circuit Court for the County in which you reside. 

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12338
How Much Does it Cost to Hire a Divorce Attorney? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12222 Michigan DivorceThis is probably one of the biggest considerations for someone wanting to file a divorce, but because every divorce is different, the cost of the divorce will depend on your particular situation and circumstances. For example, a 20-year marriage involving minor children with a significant amount of assets and property will likely require more time to resolve than a 2-year marriage involving no children and very little assets. 

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12222
What is the Procedure for Filing for Divorce? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12221 Michigan divorceBefore filing for divorce, a party must reside in the State of Michigan for at least 180 days preceding the filing of the complaint and must reside in the county where the complaint is filed for at least 10 days preceding the filing of the complaint.  For example, a person who wants to file for divorce in Oakland County needs to have been a resident of Oakland County for at least ten days and a resident of the State of Michigan for at least 180 days before s/he can file a complaint for divorce.

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12221
How Long does it Take to get a Divorce in Michigan? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12185
Michigan divorce attorneyThere are minimum timelines that are required by law. In Michigan, a divorce can be granted in as little as 60 days if there are no children involved. If minor children are involved, there is a statutory six-month waiting period before the divorce can be granted. The six-month waiting period usually helps ensure the parties have carefully thought out all issues and have ruled out reconciliation. Some judges will be willing to waive the waiting period if the parties have resolved all issues.

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12185
What are the Grounds for a Divorce in Michigan? http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12180 How to divorce MichiganMichigan is a No-Fault Divorce State

Michigan is a no-fault divorce state, which means you do not have to prove fault to get a divorce.

Michigan’s only requirement is that a party establishes that “there has been a breakdown in the marital relationship to the extent that the objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.”

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/12180
Official Website of HermizLaw Launched http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/1994 PaperStreet Web Design launches HermizLaw.com, the official website of HermizLaw, a Michigan based law firm.

]]>
Fri, 29 Apr 2016 15:03:10 -0500 http://www.hermizlaw.com/blog/1994